BOARD OF EDUCATION SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES OCTOBER 17, 2022 – 7:00 P.M.

The Board of Education of the L'Anse Creuse Public Schools district convened a Special Meeting on Monday, October 17, 2022 at 7:00 p.m. at the Harry L. Wheeler Community Center and Administrative Offices, 24076 F.V. Pankow Boulevard, Clinton Township, Michigan.

A. Call to Order, Pledge of Allegiance and Roll Call

Mrs. Hilary Dubay, President, called the Special Board Meeting to order at 7:02 p.m.

Roll Call

Present: Mrs. Hilary Dubay, President

Mr. Adam Lipski, Vice President Mrs. Sharon Ross, Secretary Mrs. Amelia Servial, Treasurer Mr. Shane Sellers, Trustee Dr. Terri Spencer, Trustee

Also Present: Mrs. Lisa Montpas, Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum & Instruction

Dr. Greg Dixon, Assistant Superintendent for Human Resources

Ms. Rochelle Gauthier, Assistant Superintendent for Business & Operations

Ms. Laura Holbert, Director for Elementary Education Ms. Kim Rawski, Director for Secondary Education Ms. Nancy Supanich, Director for Special Education

Mr. Donald Gratton, Director for Operations Mr. Brandon Streng, Supervisor for Technology

Employees and Patrons of the District

B. Approval of the Agenda

Motion by Mr. Lipski, supported by Mrs. Ross, to approve the October 17, 2022 Special Board Meeting agenda as presented.

Yes: All No: None Motion carried.

C. Candidate Interviews for Board Vacancy

Mrs. Dubay reminded the Board of their board vacancy operating procedures by reading the policy out loud and summarized the interview process for the evening.

The Board held interviews with the following candidate for the Board Vacancy term that will expire on December 31, 2022.

Kristen Carson Jeffrey Cyprus John Da Via Al Doss Janell Kosmala Jody Lesinski
Lyntoshia Neal
Darwin Roche
Michelle Ropp
Robert Ross
Nikita Smith
Matthew Turner
Dale VanDeWater

The Board voted on all of the candidates who interviewed during the Special Meeting and narrowed candidates down to the following individuals:

Jeffrey Cyprus John Da Via Darwin Roche Matthew Turner Dale VanDeWater

The Board held discussion on the five candidates and then voted again to narrow the candidate pool to 3 candidates. The Board narrowed candidates down to the following individuals:

Jeffrey Cyprus Darwin Roche Dale VanDeWater

The board held discussion on the three candidates and voted for the final candidate. Mr. Jeffrey Cyprus received the most votes of the three candidates.

Motion by Mrs. Servial supported by Mr. Lipski to appoint Mr. Jeffrey Cyprus to the board vacancy as Trustee until December 31, 2022.

Roll Call Vote:

Yes: Servial, Lipski, Ross, Spencer, Dubay

No: Sellers Motion carried.

D. Adjournment

Motion by Mr. Sellers, supported by Mrs. Ross, to adjourn the meeting. The meeting was adjourned at 10:27 p.m.

Yes: All No: None Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Sharon L. Ross, Secretary

Board of Education